Shimer College

Montaigne Scholarship

It is good to rub and polish our brain against that of others.

The Montaigne Scholarship

The scholarship honors Michel de Montaigne, the French Renaissance author and essayist. He jotted down a number of quotable things, like the sentiment at the top of this page. 

Participants read a text selected by our faculty, discuss it in a classroom setting, and write an essay. A committee of faculty members evaluates each participant’s performance and selects the scholarship recipient. One participant will receive a scholarship of $30,000 per year (renewable for 4 years). All participants will receive a scholarship prize based on their performance.

How to apply for the scholarship:

  1. RSVP for the Montaigne competition using the form below.
  2. Read Montaigne’s “Of the Education of Children” before the event.
  3. Respond to the essay prompt we’ll provide during our event on April 10.
  4. Participate in an on-campus discussion of the reading on April 10. 



Contact us with any questions at 312.235.3543 or


Things to Keep in Mind: To be eligible to receive a Montaigne Scholarship, you must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Include both Shimer (school code 001756) and North Central College (school code 001734) in your application).

Note: Students who are awarded federal or state grants may have their scholarship adjusted if the combined amount of all aid exceeds the cost of tuition. Students must be applying for the Fall 2017 semester; any deferral of admission will disqualify the student from acceptance of the scholarship.

Guidelines: Montaigne scholarships are effective for eight semesters (Fall and Spring only) of fulltime enrollment within a 5-year period beginning with the initial date of enrollment at Shimer. They are automatically renewable for students who maintain a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.00 and are in good social standing. Leaves of absence are permitted if approved by the Dean of the College, although they do not negate the 5-year completion stipulation. The award applies only to tuition costs and does not include other fees such as books, orientation or graduation fees.